The Pritzker Architecture Prize established in 1979 by American entrepreneur Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy honours the work of living architects. The award is funded by the Pritzker family and sponsored by the Hyatt Foundation; a multinational hospitality company owned by the Pritzker family and based in Chicago.



The Pritzker website states this prize is “To honor a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.”

The 2020 recipients of the prize are Dublin based architect company Grafton Architects, founded over 40 years ago by Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara.

Farrell and McNamara were awarded the prize “for their integrity in their approach to both their buildings, as well as the way they conduct their practice,” said the Pritzker Architecture Prize jury. They went on to describe them as “pioneers in a field that has traditionally been and still is a male-dominated profession” and “beacons to others as they forge their exemplary professional path”.

They have won several awards in the past including the 2008 World Building of the Year for their Milan design of the Universita Luigi Bocconi and the 2016 RIBA International Prize for the University Campus UTEC Lima building in Peru.